viewing my first elan...

Moderators: theelanman, dapinky, Specky, Dave Eds, DaveT, Elanlover, Nige, muley, Enright, Sy V, algirdas, nitroman, clemo, GeoffSmith

viewing my first elan...

Postby hwg » Tue 02.07.2013, 19:44

Hi,
I'm going to see this car tomorrow, and would appreciate any pointers!

It will be the first time i see one up-close, so I dont really know what to expect.
so what do you helpful lot think of it? I'm looking for a daily drive, but my drive to work isn't very far.
I've printed out the "buying guide" thing, and plan to take it along.

also, what is the implication of a top-engine overhaul?
being particularly mechanically minded, this makes me concerned that the "bottom-engine" will need an overhaul soon aswell :D !
ok, maybe not, but is it a sign of other potential problems, or is it an indicator of reliability?

Thanks, Harry
hwg

Re: viewing my first elan...

Postby wayne » Tue 02.07.2013, 20:19

Just my thoughts. I am not an expert......

I suspect the top end overhaul was a Head Gasket failure which is quite common. Providing it was done well and all associated parts were changed I do not think it is much of an issue. Not heard of many problems with the bottom end.

Mileage is kind of high but if it has good service history it may turn out to be a nice car. Paintwork looks very good around the front bumper. Maybe had a re-spray at some time?? A new trim technology hood (and hopefully seals) a few years ago sounds very nice (probably a £1000 upgrade). !!

Although. It will probably still leak.

Seats are probably going to be tired looking but covers can be replaced... Although are not cheap.
1992 Pacific Blue, Top end performance Kit. K&N airfilter& HKS BOV. Everest. HiSpec fronts, SS hoses. 2010 Canyon red Evora.
http://www.elanm100.com
wayne
God

Postby epipete » Tue 02.07.2013, 20:23

wayne wrote:Just my thoughts. I am not an expert......