Firefox

Threads for help with computer maintenance, software and hardware advice, photos and photoshopping, and other topics related to keeping your computer healthy and online with us.

Moderators: theelanman, dapinky, Dave Eds, Sy V, GeoffSmith, DaveT, Elanlover, muley, Enright, algirdas, nitroman, clemo, Specky, Nige

Firefox

Postby DeeAitch » Tue 22.12.2009, 18:42

Firefox is playing up on me :evil:
Been using it for years but today I get "Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at http://www.google.com. or anything else for that matter.
Called Virgin - does anyone else end up swearing / tossing the phone about when these automated 'press option 1 for....... etc" say something along the lines of ' we value our customers so we are recording all calls to ensure you get the best service possible' - pure tosh.
Anyway I ended up speaking to one of the most helpful helpdesk blokes I've ever come across. After all sorts of tests, plugs out and in etc he said lets try Windows exploder - worked first time :oops:
So I've now installed Firefox 3.6 Beta 5 but still compta say no :(
The bloke did say Virgin don't support firefox so maybe they've put the hex on it :poke:

Any clues?
User avatar
DeeAitch
God
 
Posts: 1773
Joined: Fri 09.05.2003, 22:11
Location: North East

Re: Firefox

Postby dapinky » Tue 22.12.2009, 19:01

I'm using Firefox on Virgin - no probs at the moment - have you tried paying yer fone bill???????
Dave

Just the one now, but this one's mine! - and it will be finished eventually.....

go on - click this link - you know you want to!
User avatar
dapinky
LEC Administrator
 
Posts: 8165
Joined: Sun 15.10.2006, 12:54
Location: As far west as you can get in West Wales before you become Irish (Pembroke Dock).

Re: Firefox

Postby DeeAitch » Tue 22.12.2009, 19:04

dapinky wrote:I'm using Firefox on Virgin - no probs at the moment - have you tried paying yer fone bill???????


What, just before Chrimbo :roll:
nee chance!
User avatar
DeeAitch
God
 
Posts: 1773
Joined: Fri 09.05.2003, 22:11
Location: North East

Re: Firefox

Postby ailwyn » Tue 22.12.2009, 20:12

Dave,

Check that you are not "Working Offline"... File > Work Offline should be unchecked.

Have a look in the preferences and see if a proxy has been (accidentally?) set

Ailwyn
ailwyn
Forum Member
 
Posts: 3390
Joined: Tue 09.08.2005, 20:45

Re: Firefox

Postby paulrwebster » Tue 22.12.2009, 20:16

Turn off your firewall if you have one, it might be blocking it.
Image

499 Rubbish posts, Always a fanatic, never a God.
User avatar
paulrwebster
Fanatic
 
Posts: 533
Joined: Sat 28.01.2006, 18:15
Location: Haywards Heath, West Sussex

Re: Firefox

Postby lotos » Tue 22.12.2009, 20:24

Does MSIE work?
User avatar
lotos
God
 
Posts: 1669
Joined: Thu 26.08.2004, 04:48
Location: USA

Re: Firefox

Postby ailwyn » Tue 22.12.2009, 20:29

DeeAitch wrote:After all sorts of tests, plugs out and in etc he said lets try Windows exploder - worked first time :oops:


Not a firewall or connectivity issue, this is down to a FF setting I suspect.

Worst case Dave, find the settings folder (C:\documents and settings\applications\mozilla - or something similar), rename the whole directory, then restart FF, this should eliminate any profile related setting.

A.
ailwyn
Forum Member
 
Posts: 3390
Joined: Tue 09.08.2005, 20:45

Re: Firefox

Postby GeoffSmith » Tue 22.12.2009, 20:42

Google Chrome.... although why I'm saying this after Google UK avoided shedloads of tax by laundering the sheets in Ireland, I don't know.
I'd been having issues with FF and 500MB+ memory leakage at the end of the day so tried Chrome and I must say it's not bad at all.
Calypso Red S2 #417

USB ElanScan interfaces - £55 incl. P&P.
User avatar
GeoffSmith
Kitty Fiddler
 
Posts: 14223
Joined: Fri 03.02.2006, 21:57
Location: S2#417 in Tytherington, Gloucestershire

Re: Firefox

Postby DeeAitch » Tue 22.12.2009, 21:16

lotos wrote:Does MSIE work?

Yep, that's what I'm using now :wink:

Ailwyn wrote:find the settings folder (C:\documents and settings\applications\mozilla - or something similar), rename the whole directory, then restart FF, this should eliminate any profile related setting


Just did that and FF promptly crashed!
Tried FF in 'safe mode' still don't work
Chrome - thanks Geoff - works just fine and looks good. Pity I didn't name the mozilla settings back again before I installed it as Chrome didn't import any FF bookmarks - bugga :oops: Still, they did need a clean up!

Thanks for the efforts folks, guess I'll buckle and ask Santa for a mac :cry:
User avatar
DeeAitch
God
 
Posts: 1773
Joined: Fri 09.05.2003, 22:11
Location: North East

Re: Firefox

Postby muley » Tue 22.12.2009, 22:53

Another vote for Chrome from me. The only drag is that some features of hotmail don't work with it - funny that ..

Have a good Xmas

Jim
"You can take the man out of the Elan, but you can't take the Elan out of the man"
1995 Palacio S2 no 507
"LEC turbo nutter" ;)Black MX-5 NC Red Honda Integra S
User avatar
muley
Moderator
 
Posts: 4068
Joined: Tue 22.04.2003, 09:07
Location: Wokingham, Berks and Waikanae Beach

Re: Firefox

Postby ailwyn » Wed 23.12.2009, 09:44

DeeAitch wrote:Thanks for the efforts folks, guess I'll buckle and ask Santa for a mac :cry:


It can't be that bad... stick an Ubuntu CD in the drive - will cure a lot of the problems, particularly the M$ one :)
ailwyn
Forum Member
 
Posts: 3390
Joined: Tue 09.08.2005, 20:45

Re: Firefox

Postby al » Wed 23.12.2009, 12:08

Another vote for Chrome here too :D
hehehe
User avatar
al
LEC Bit Basher
 
Posts: 571
Joined: Sat 15.04.2006, 15:30
Location: London

Re: Firefox

Postby ailwyn » Wed 23.12.2009, 12:11

al wrote:Another vote for Chrome here too :D
hehehe


Sponsored votes don't count :D
ailwyn
Forum Member
 
Posts: 3390
Joined: Tue 09.08.2005, 20:45

Re: Firefox

Postby DeeAitch » Wed 23.12.2009, 12:50

FF still not working, exploder and Chrome work just fine 8)
Maybe It's all a conspiracy to get me switched to Chrome ;-) ;-)
User avatar
DeeAitch
God
 
Posts: 1773
Joined: Fri 09.05.2003, 22:11
Location: North East

Re: Firefox

Postby ailwyn » Wed 23.12.2009, 13:35

Dave, if the settings directory is still renamed, then uninstall and re-install FF, this should force it to re-create the profile/settings - see if that cures it.
ailwyn
Forum Member
 
Posts: 3390
Joined: Tue 09.08.2005, 20:45

Re: Firefox

Postby DeeAitch » Wed 23.12.2009, 19:54

ailwyn wrote:Dave, if the settings directory is still renamed, then uninstall and re-install FF, this should force it to re-create the profile/settings - see if that cures it.


Tried that - yes, it re-created the profile.
Confused the heck out of me as I discovered I then had 2 when I tried to re-name the original :oops:
Still won't work tho'.
Ended up un-installing Chrome, renaming the original FF profile folder and then installing Chrome again. Now I have all my bookmarks back :D
Going to stick with Chrome for now but one problem is I've lost all my e-mail addresses :evil:
Now where do they sit I wonder ?

Thanks again for all the help folks and have a great Christmas.
User avatar
DeeAitch
God
 
Posts: 1773
Joined: Fri 09.05.2003, 22:11
Location: North East

Re: Firefox

Postby paulrwebster » Thu 24.12.2009, 20:46

I think we need a Lotus Elan theme writing for Google Chrome. Geoff, were you doing anything tomorrow?
Image

499 Rubbish posts, Always a fanatic, never a God.
User avatar
paulrwebster
Fanatic
 
Posts: 533
Joined: Sat 28.01.2006, 18:15
Location: Haywards Heath, West Sussex

Re: Firefox

Postby DeeAitch » Thu 07.01.2010, 18:12

Needed a favourite from Firefox today, tried to launch it now it works just fine :evil:
Never touched a thing. Computas? They drive me mad :roll:
User avatar
DeeAitch
God
 
Posts: 1773
Joined: Fri 09.05.2003, 22:11
Location: North East


Return to Computer Help / IT Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest