MBV, Everest Chip, Both? What have I got?

Moderators: theelanman, Sy V, Elanlover, muley, Enright, GeoffSmith, algirdas, nitroman, clemo, dapinky, Dave Eds, Specky, Nige, DaveT

Re: MBV, Everest Chip, Both? What have I got?

Postby Dom » Wed 04.10.2017, 14:25

The plug chaser worked and the 02 sensor is niw seated niceky. Thanks for the tip!
User avatar
Dom
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue 18.04.2017, 16:29
Location: Bracknell

Re: MBV, Everest Chip, Both? What have I got?

Postby Steve A » Wed 01.11.2017, 22:12

Dom wrote:The sensor finally arrived today and is now fitted, together with the correct chip from Alan. I got stung £15 by Royal Mail and it took longer to get 10 miles from Heathrow to my home than it did to get from America.
That's strange I didn't get stung :? I'm almost disappointed :-D
"If everything is under control, you are going too slow."
User avatar
Steve A
God
 
Posts: 1840
Joined: Tue 18.09.2007, 12:44
Location: South East Essex

Re: MBV, Everest Chip, Both? What have I got?

Postby Steve A » Sat 04.11.2017, 18:35

:? OK now I've started looking at this and have removed my chip ready to send it back to be modified, so it's full steam ahead.
Looking at the wiki instructions I have removed the half moon cover and wheel arch liner and yes I need to add the two wires necessary to make the sensor work.
Questions for those that have done it (please):
1. I'm assuming the best method of splicing the wires is soldering them ? (that's going to be fun at the ECU lots of access).
2. The wire D7 from the ECU, would that be a grey wire ? (just checking).
3. I've not found where the wiring comes through the bulk head into the drivers foot well, can it be seen from the half moon ?
( I'm doing this in the garage and I can only open the drivers door, just enough to get in :roll:)
"If everything is under control, you are going too slow."
User avatar
Steve A
God
 
Posts: 1840
Joined: Tue 18.09.2007, 12:44
Location: South East Essex

Re: MBV, Everest Chip, Both? What have I got?

Postby Dom » Sat 04.11.2017, 23:05

Steve, I was very lucky that all the wiring was there on my SE and it literally was plug and play, once I had installed the revised chip. Getting the bung out for the O2 sensor takes patience. I used a 50/50 mix of nail polish remover (acetone) and ATF to soak the area and a breaker bar to help 4emove the bung. I found a thread chaser was necessary to clean the thread to accept the O2 sensor fully. Overall, the job was an easy one and I am definitely seeing improved economy. Sorry I can’t help with your wiring queries, but I’d still say it’s a job worth doing. Make sure you use the correct socket to fit the O2 sensor, as it could get damaged if you’re not careful.
User avatar
Dom
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue 18.04.2017, 16:29
Location: Bracknell

Previous

Return to Turbos, Boost, and Intakes

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests