cruise control

Moderators: theelanman, dapinky, Specky, Dave Eds, DaveT, Elanlover, Nige, muley, Enright, Sy V, algirdas, nitroman, clemo, GeoffSmith

Re: cruise control

Postby HJ2 » Sun 24.05.2009, 17:44

Just my luck....

For you peeps who want the same wire as i want... There are two yellow/black wires in the harnass from the instrument cluster!
If you want to know wich one is the right one, procede as following: Cut the isolation of one (doesn't matter wich one), solder your GPS pulse wire to it, and then you'll find out it's the wrong one! (this won't work the other way around as you probably found out earlier whilst queing up in the slow que @ the last store you visited :-D ...)

Anyway: in my LHD EU car, instrument panel top cover removed, and as seen form the drivers seat position: it's the most right (Y/B) wire coming from the connector of the instrument cluster.
If you always do what you always did, you always get what you always got
User avatar
HJ2
God
 
Posts: 3830
Joined: Fri 06.06.2008, 10:54
Location: Delft, the Netherlands

Re: cruise control

Postby GeoffSmith » Sun 24.05.2009, 17:48

Yes, looks like you need the black/yellow rather than the yellow/black to the temperature sensor. :oops:
Calypso Red S2 #417

USB ElanScan interfaces - £60 incl. UK P&P & £65 incl. ROW P&P
User avatar
GeoffSmith
Kitty Fiddler
 
Posts: 15187
Joined: Fri 03.02.2006, 21:57
Location: S2#417 in Tytherington, Gloucestershire

Re: cruise control

Postby phunk » Tue 26.07.2011, 11:23

Anyone managed this?
phunk
Newbie
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue 31.05.2011, 20:03
Location: Glasgow

Re: cruise control

Postby tigerdog » Wed 27.07.2011, 23:57

HJ2 wrote:If you want to know wich one is the right one, procede as following: Cut the isolation of one (doesn't matter wich one), solder your GPS pulse wire to it, and then you'll find out it's the wrong one! (this won't work the other way around as you probably found out earlier whilst queing up in the slow que @ the last store you visited :-D ...)

:smt044 :smt043 :smt044 :smt043 :smt044 :smt043 :smt044 :smt043 :smt044 :smt043 :smt044 :smt043 :smt044 :smt043 :smt044 :smt043 :smt044 :smt043 :smt044 :smt043 :smt044 :smt043 :smt044 :smt043 :smt044

That is so incredibly true!!!
"Refitting is the reverse sequence to removal, but you swear in different places."
User avatar
tigerdog
God
 
Posts: 2616
Joined: Tue 20.03.2007, 09:07
Location: San Diego, CA, USA

Re: cruise control

Postby HJ2 » Thu 28.07.2011, 07:23

What is true? ... you cued up in the wrong cue?
(don't answer :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: ) :chair:
If you always do what you always did, you always get what you always got
User avatar
HJ2
God
 
Posts: 3830
Joined: Fri 06.06.2008, 10:54
Location: Delft, the Netherlands

Re: cruise control

Postby Scott » Sun 27.07.2014, 12:04

so what happened in the end? did you really use the CC unit and did it work??
1998 BMW 316 E36 Coupe
2001 Volvo S40 1.6
1991 Lotus Elan M100 Turbo
2004 Ducati Monster 620ie

''L.O.T.U.S - Let OThers UnderSteering''
User avatar
Scott
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue 14.06.2011, 17:45
Location: Athens - Greece

Re: cruise control

Postby Pompeydave » Sat 15.08.2020, 09:17

Did anyone ever get this to work? I'm assuming not as there weren't any further posts?
User avatar
Pompeydave
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat 03.04.2010, 10:43
Location: Portsmouth

Re: cruise control

Postby RonR » Sat 15.08.2020, 10:14

Lots more Info on cruise control Here
User avatar
RonR
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon 22.08.2016, 20:25
Location: Bromley

Re: cruise control

Postby dapinky » Sat 15.08.2020, 12:40

If you follow Rons link it'll take you to my thread..... but I never finalised the posts on it!

Basically, taking the pulse count from the back of the speedo didn't work - and it isn't how the Vauxhall unit ever took it's pulse on a Vectra/Astra/Omega (as I later found out).

I'm no electronics engineer (and my friendly local one with an Elan and an Oscilloscope was sunning it up in Spain at the time and not able to do the measurements needed), so I don't know if it was a case of wrong frequency, insufficient ampltude or wrong wave pattern that was the problem.....

.....anyway, I had no idea if it needed a sine/square conversion, an amplification, or a multiplication/division of frequency.....

..... so I looked at how the Vauxhalls did it.

They take the signal from the ABS unit, so we were a bit buggered.

Except for the Astra G, which has CC as an option, but takes the pulse from a single reluctor ring and pickup. I don't know if the Astra takes it from the front, rear left or right wheel, and it doesn't really matter. I simply found a Vauxhall reluctor ring with the correct diameter to be an (almost) interference fit on the CV joint on the OS Elan driveshaft. The signal is picked up by a 'standard' Vauxhall ABS sensor which I had to mount on the hub with a bit of a bracket.

The signal connects to a Vauxhall relay/switch/circuit thingy (brown coloured box which looks like a standard relay, but has an electronic circuit inside) and feeds the Cruise Control box.

It all now works as it should, but it isn't as simple or straightforward as i first thought it should be - mainly because of the need to aquire the speed signal.
Dave

Just the one now, but this one's mine! - and it will be finished eventually.....

go on - click this link - you know you want to!
User avatar
dapinky
LEC Administrator
 
Posts: 8855
Joined: Sun 15.10.2006, 12:54
Location: As far west as you can get in West Wales before you become Irish (Pembroke Dock).

Re: cruise control

Postby Pompeydave » Sat 15.08.2020, 12:48

Ok, thanks for that. Need to get a car first but it’ll be an early job to do on the list of possible upgrades.
User avatar
Pompeydave
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat 03.04.2010, 10:43
Location: Portsmouth

Previous

Return to Upgrades

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest