Roll Bars: Has anyone *ever* rolled this car?

Moderators: theelanman, dapinky, nitroman, Specky, clemo, Nige, Dave Eds, Sy V, GeoffSmith, DaveT, Elanlover, muley, Enright, algirdas

Roll Bars: Has anyone *ever* rolled this car?

Postby ecc » Sat 04.08.2018, 13:10

...and if so, and if they're still alive and able to type, what was the outcome?

I ask because I see no contemporary convertibles without such an obvious safety device. Why was the Elan not suitably equipped from the start? Aesthetics? Regulations (or lack thereof)?

I'm somewhat interested in fitting something to protect my pretty (? debatable) noggin should the worst happen. But as a mathematician, I can understand the stats too. With its "wide stance" (and as an American, that phrase brings a smile to my face - look it up, Brits, if you enjoy "airport toilet humiliation for hypocritical Republican/Conservative politicians"), how prone is the Elan to rollover accidents?

By the way, I drive like an old lady on her way to Morrisons on a Saturday morning. With occasional foot-to-the-floor moments to hear that old school forced induction deliciousness that makes Elan ownership worth every penny.

So thoughts on:

1. Is it a safety issue, and if not, what is your reasoning for installing or avoiding?

2. Are aftermarket solutions effective, or would they crumple given their location on the frame? On my part, this is a genuine safety matter, so not particularly interested in anything installed to look cool.

3. In my wildest dreams, an Elan would make a killer hillclimb competitor. Are there any bars/cages that meet that spec?

Thanks!
ecc

Re: Roll Bars: Has anyone *ever* rolled this car?

Postby John_W » Sat 04.08.2018, 13:36

Without dredging too deep into my memory, I know of three people who have rolled the Elan since I have owned mine (17 years). All are alive to tell the tale, but one was injured. I’m sure there must have been more incidents.
John_W
Heid-bummer